Pure and Faultless Religion


 What does God expect?  Wow, what a question.  And a dangerous one at that, because the answer can sound very “works-oriented salvation”  if we are not careful.  So let’s assume that we all have a deep and real relationship with our Savior, Jesus Christ.  Good.  Now what does God expect?  True worship.  Worship in spirit and in truth.  What does that mean?  Man, I am full of questions today.  Well, the answer is more than I want or could write today.  But let’s start where God has been speaking to me latelty.  This falls under the Romans 12:1 type of worship.

There are things that God simply says in the bible that we should do.  And things that please Him.  Here’s the one that He keeps pressing on me lately:

James 1:27 (NIV) 
    Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

 Then just this morning He said this:

Hebrews 13:15-16 (NIV) 
    Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise–the fruit of lips that confess his name. [16] And do not forget to do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.

God keeps drawing me back to the fact that He wants us to take care of those in need.  Physically, yes, but also those with spiritual and emotional needs.  Yet, our ministries and our lives get so busy that we over look those people quite often.  Recently, that has been the case in my life.  Busyness and “important” matters have drawn me to overlook those in need – all kinds of need.  I must to look at things a little differently.  Maybe I need to be a little less prepared for rehearsal so that I can touch someone in the hospital.  Sometimes I need to drop something “important” and go visit someone who needs a touch.  Maybe a monetary gift from someone isn’t even for me, I may just be a conduit to get it to someone else.  Now, don’t think I’ve gotten it down.  This is an area I need to grow in.  Would You pray for me in this area?  Would you look for the “widow and the orphan” and be willing to let something go to touch them as the hands and feet of Jesus?

 I want pure and faultless religion.  Lord, please help me to please You!

Brian

2 responses to “Pure and Faultless Religion

Leave a Reply

