how much longer – my birthday concert


I love how God will gives us little presents sometimes.

My birthday fell near the end of our vacation (Friday).  While we celebrated with dinner and a movie, I really didn’t expect anything big.  But God planned a little surprise.  I found out on Wednesday that Travis Cottrell would be giving a concert on Friday night.  It was a free, outdoor event sponsored by a local church.  We met my brother-in-law and nephew there.  Needless to say, it was a great evening.  Travis and his team are excellent musicians, but more than that, they love the Lord and it shines through.  We worshipped that night, out on the grass, even in the heat and humidity.  Afterwards, I connected with Travis for a few minutes.  I know, I forgot to take a picture of the two of us for the blog.  That’s a big blogging “no-no.”  But I’m still fairly new at this.  So, I’ll just describe it for you.  Two metro-worship leaders were there.  One had no hair gel because it was his vacation.  The other had been robbed of his by heat, humidity, and big stage lights.  It was a fairly troubling scene.  That’s what it would have looked like.

Anyway, it was great to worship and visit with him for a few minutes after the concert.  Travis, thank you for a great night of worship.  You are welcome to come back to MeadowBrook anytime bud!

 The unapproved pic!

 It thrilled my heart to see Kate lifting her hands in praise.  Just before she returned to her Chick-fil-a bag.

 Victoria’s self pic.

I maybe thinking a little selfishly, but I believe that concert was just for me on my birthday.  Like the loving Father He is, God gives us little surprises and gifts.  This night was just one of many.  Thank you, Lord.

Brian

P.S. Travis is regular reader of GodSeekerBlog.  I am honored.

4 responses to “how much longer – my birthday concert

  • Travis Cottrell

    Troubling scene INDEED.

    Great to see you…and these are great pics of your family. I didn’t get to say hello to them. Next time!

  • Dawn W

    Travis, Brian has already had a great time at choir practice with his chance to be a name-dropper–& of course getting teased about it. He was one happy camper & we look forward to having you back to MeadowBrook sometime soon!

  • kesleigh castle

    Brian,
    Your family is gorgeous. God has truly blessed you! It’s great to hear that you are doing well! It’s been fun to see all the tour folks and their kids. Funny that we both have four kids and both have daughters named Kate. Blessings!
    Kesleigh

  • Jennie

    Hi, Brian,
    Keith Chambers is one of my best friends and told me to check out your blog. I am also a huge, huge, Travis Cottrell fan and would love to get a heads up on when he might be back to Meadowbrook.
    Did Travis mention his wildlife encounters with jelly fish, sharks and a small school of fish on attack during his stay? You may have read about it on his blog. What an adventure!
    Your blog is great! I will be back!!

Leave a Reply

