wait


I know everyone who seeks God and searches the Scripture has had those moments when the Spirit gives a familiar passage new life and deeper meaning.  That happened to me this morning as I was reading Isaiah.  When I started chapter 40 I wasn’t even thinking about verses 29-31, a passage so familiar to many a believer.  I was just reading and soaking in what the scripture was saying.  Man is finite and his life is quick.  His life is over like the grass that withers.  But God is the Lord.  Who can know His power?  Who has created the earth but God?  Who taught God?  He sets up the rulers of the world and brings them down.  He brings out the stars and calls them each by name.  Because of His great power and mighty strength they stay in place.  “He is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.  He will not grow tired or weary, and His understanding no one can fathom.”  (Isaiah 40:28)

Keep in mind, I had fogotten what was to follow.  But I was in awe at the contrast between man and God.  The finite created and the infinite, all-powerful Creator.  I was thinking about the things I struggle with, my lack of power to do anything about them, and how powerful God is compared to them.  I was just plain feeling tired and helpless.  Then I read:

He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in (or wait on) the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.
Isaiah 40:29-31

 All of a sudden, it had new power and meaning for me.  I was excited and felt like yelling “Yes!”  It was all new and fresh.

I have just barely scratched the depth and meaning of this passage.  When you get a chance, read Isaiah 40 and let the Spirit open it up to you.  Praise God!

Brian

Leave a Reply

