why did I blink?//Victoria’s birthday


victoria-2

I blinked and my newborn little girl turned 11.  O, there have been many experiences since that day 11 years ago.   Many miles traveled.  1 seminary.  2 apartments.  3 houses.  3 cities.  4 siblings.  But I remember the day she was born like it was yesterday.  You can read the story of her coming here.

But alas, they don’t stay little forever.  Here she is on the day she was born:

victoria birth 1

There we are with one incredible nurse (Barbara – on the left) and a great doctor (Dr. Hunt – if you live near Fairhope, AL, she is awesome).  We were clueless.  We took pictures like this:

victoria birth 2

I don’t know what they were doing.  I was just taking pictures through the tears.  The kind nurse was probably just swabbing gooey junk off of our dear little girl.  And to that, we say, “Thank You.”  But we didn’t notice it at the time.

She has really changed through the years:

Vic and Emma Easter '01

Vic pony tails

Vic umbrella

But I know the biggest changes are yet to come.  I’m getting a little teary just thinking about them.  We’ve discussed things I really don’t want to.  I’m not ready.  But time marches on.

SNC00343

She will be in middle school next year.  I will really whine then.  Just look at her:

SNC00346

She is so beautiful.  So full of personality.  So smart.  So talented.  And she loves the Lord.  She recently asked me to start waking her at 6 in the morning so that she can spend time with God.  Sonya and I are so proud.

Happy Birthday Victoria.  We love you.

Brian

4 responses to “why did I blink?//Victoria’s birthday

Leave a Reply

