wait and seek//only God could think of such a thing


Again, I am amazed at how God speaks.  How He brings the message from multiple places at once.  Yesterday, I was in Psalm 62 which begins, “For God alone my soul waits in silence.”  This spoke to me on many levels about things large and small.  The “silence” shows David’s faith, that he didn’t complain or worry.  He was confident in God.

This morning I read Psalm 63 which begins, “O God, You are my God; earnestly I seek You.”  Both of these Psalms were written while David fled and hid from Absalom in the Judean wilderness.  The same situation.  David waited.  David sought.  All at the same time.  It was really getting deep.  Then…

I came to staff bible study.  Randy hit us from Acts 1 and 2.  In Acts 1, as Jesus ended a 40 day teaching period with the disciples, He didn’t send them out all pumped up to win the world – even with the Great Commission fresh on their minds.  No.  Jesus said, “Wait”  Wait for the Holy Spirit.  Wait for the power.  So, they waited.  But how did they wait?  Acts 1:14a says, “All these with one accord were devoting themselves to prayer.”  They were seeking.  Waiting.  And seeking.  When the Holy Spirit showed up in Acts 2 and said, “Go.”  They were ready.

Maybe this doesn’t say much to you today, but it does to me.  Wait and seek.  In my life – wait and seek.  In my family – wait and seek.  In my ministry – wait and seek.  I don’t want to move in one area without the power of the Holy Spirit.  I want to hear from God.

Wait and seek.  God’s way of doing things.

Brian

Leave a Reply

