how can it be?


Think about it.  How can God love us so much?  I’ve been overwhelmed by the thought of His love for us this week.  I’m reading the book Crazy Love and at the same time God is leading me through passages of His Word that hit home on the same themes.  In my daily Psalm reading I hit Psalm 139 last Thursday.  The first six verses just keep ringing in my head:

O Lord, you have searched me and known me!

You know when I sit down and when I rise up;

ou discern my thoughts from afar.

You search out my path and my lying down

and are acquainted with all my ways.

Even before a word is on my tongue,

behold, O lord, you know it altogether.

You hem me in, behind and before,

and lay you hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;

it is high; I cannot attain it.

Psalm 139:1-6

The intimate knowledge God has of me is staggering to realize. That out of almost 7 billion people on earth, in the midst of a universe that is larger than I could ever comprehend and goes “who knows how far” beyond our most powerful telescope, God knows every word I say before I even say it.  Not only that, He does it on purpose.  He has “searched me and known me.”  He even knows when I sit and when I get up!  Wow!

Then, while I’m reading this, God has me in the first few chapters of Romans which reminds me that I deserve non of it.  I deserve only the wrath of God.  Even David knew this as he wrote in Psalm 143 that “no one living is righteous before you.”  But by God’s grace, His marvelous, wonderful grace, I am saved.  He is my Redeemer and Friend.  My Father.  His intentional, crazy love for me goes beyond anything I can imagine.  It goes so far that while I was still a wretched, rebellious sinner, He died for me (Romans 5:8).

How can this be?  And how in the world do we respond to such knowledge?  Total surrender.  Nothing held back.  Lay it all down.

More on this later.

Brian

One response to “how can it be?

Leave a Reply

