what can separate us?


The love of God has been my theme for that past couple of weeks.  I’m amazed at how He loves us.  I read Crazy Love.  The song Your Love from the North Point Louder than Creation album has been playing over and over again in my car.  Then Monday, I hit chapter 8 in my read through Romans.  That familiar passage in verses 35 – 39 just sang to me.  It is so beautiful, comforting and poetic.  And its truth just floors me.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?  As it is written,

“For your sake we are being killed all the day long;
we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers,  nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Can anything separate us from His love?  Persecution or troubles?  No.  Hunger or poverty?  No.  Death or the threat of death?  No.  Demons, the past, the future, distance, or anything in this world or heaven?  NO!  Nothing.  His love surrounds us and guards.  And..

…even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with Me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Psalm 23:4

Nothing, people.  Did you hear me?  Even in death.  Especially in death.  God is right there with us.  And even if you feel distant, He is right there.  Though you may not be aware of Him, He is there.  Just turn to Him.

Thank You, God, for Your incredible love and faithfulness!  Amen.

Brian

Leave a Reply

