breathing theory//or just an excuse for being out of shape


Went for a 3.1 mile run this morning.  Not bad.  But don’t ask about the time.  It wasn’t impressive.  However, my body could go much farther if my wind could.  What’s the deal?  I’ve spent much of my life building my wind for trumpet playing and singing.

I was thinking about this while panting my way through the last mile when I pondered the difference in breathing for musical performance and breathing for long distance racing (yes, 3.1 miles is long distance to me – no wise cracks please).  I’ve trained my body for quick inhalation and long exhalation for sustained notes.  My body is used to having my lungs full of air and using the oxygen over a long period of time.  When I run, I obviously breathe faster and my body needs to process the oxygen at a quicker rate.  So, has my training for trumpet playing and singing made breathing for running harder?  Are they mutually exclusive or can I get better?

Or, am I just making excuses for being out of shape?

Be honest, but not cruel.

Brian

4 responses to “breathing theory//or just an excuse for being out of shape

  • brandtlyon

    Your body is using oxygen differently when you run. When you sing or play the trumpet your body isn’t needing it as badly. When you are running every muscle is screaming for it. Keep running. I would love to run with you sometime!

  • Dawn Wade

    Hey, just be proud of yourself for RUNNING 5K, man! Great job. I’m proud of myself for being able to WALK 5K last Friday, which is not easy with all the medical stuff against me.

  • kristi

    Brian-
    When running, you breathe in your nose and out your mouth. Faster you run, faster you breathe. I tell the girls “smell the birthday cake, blow out the candles.” Helps us remember how to breathe effectively. Eventually, your breathing will balance out. Just keep going!

  • Keith Fiala

    It’s more that you’re not used to running and exerting physical energy in that particular manner. Just like trumpet playing, the more you run, the more comfortable you’ll become.

    Running is great for your breathing – but keep in mind that both activities yield the best results when approached from a relaxed or “non-tense” way.

    Keith Fiala
    http://www.trumpetresources.com
    http://www.brassplayersolution.com

Leave a Reply

