though there’s pain in the offering…//part 1


I started this post over a month a go, then never finished it.  Sometimes I wonder if my blogging days are over.  I used to love it.  Sometimes I still do.  I’ve seen a direct correlation between my stress level and my blogability.  When I’m stressed, I don’t feel like blogging.  When I’m relaxed, it flows like water out of a fountain.  I can also see that same equation with stress in other areas of my life.

Of course, the title to this post is my favorite line from the second verse of Matt Redman’s “Blessed Be Your Name”…

Blessed be Your name when the sun’s shining down on me, when the world’s all as it should be, blessed be Your name.

Blessed be Your name when on the road marked with suffering, though there’s pain in the offering, blessed be Your name.

Suffering and worship.  They go hand in hand.  I could write a mega post on this subject, but you can do the research.  Just read Job.  You see it right there in chapter 1.  God allowed Satan to take everything: his live stock, his servants, and even his own children.  After hearing such news, did Job fall to the ground, ball up in the fetal position, and cry all night?  I might have.  I’m not sure how I would handle that kind of news.

I hope I’d do better than that, but I’m not sure.  This year has been a tough one.  Following God’s will isn’t always as easy as it sounds.  There are many trials, though minor in comparison to Job’s, huge to you when you are in the middle of them: children adjusting and missing friends, us adjusting and missing friends, selling a house in a horrible economy, starting over.  Then there are doctor’s bills as our health has been attacked with increasing intensity lately.  Oh, I better stop or I’ll whine all day.  Yes, I’ll have some cheese with it.  Thanks.

So, I started this post after we sang that song one Sunday.  I was leading it when I sensed God asking me if it was true of me.  We’d had a hard morning with one of our children.  He clung to one of us as we tried to drop him off at his Life Group.  We knew he would do the same the next morning at school.  In the midst of all that was raging in my mind, God asked me, would I bless His name that morning?  Would I worship Him in the midst of trial?  Would I worship in because of the trial, not in spite of it, because I know He is using it for our good?

All of a sudden, I was free to worship.  I could see Job in my mind.  We were worshiping our Sovereign together.  Oh yeah, how did Job handle the news?

Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head and fell on the ground and worshiped.  And he said, ‘Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I shall return.  The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.’

Job 1:20-21

He worshipped.  Will you?

Brian

2 responses to “though there’s pain in the offering…//part 1

  • Janet Smith

    Thank you, Brian. This was a good reminder for all of us to take a look at our lives and attitudes. It’s hard not to get bogged down in the circumstances of our trials and suffering.

    Blessed be the name of the Lord. He loves us and will never forsake us.

    Janet

  • Ruth A. Constance

    I like your honesty and how you wrote this article. Be blessed!!!!

Leave a Reply

