39 years too many


I am 37 years old.  I have never known a world where man has not walked on the moon.  I’ve never known a world without color T.V.  And I’ve never known an America without legalized abortion.

Monday was the 39th anniversary of the Roe v. Wade Supreme Court decision that legalized abortion in America. For almost 40 years we have allowed this horrific practice.  It’s not at all unlike God to have my read-the-bible-through reading in Job 10 on Tuesday.  Job 10 gives even more clarity and perspective to Psalm 139.  Read what Job says to God in the middle of his reply to one of his well-meaning “comforters”:

Your hands fashioned and made me,

and now you have destroyed me altogether.

Remember that you have made me like clay;

and will you return me to the dust?

Did you not pour me out like milk

and curdle me like cheese?

You clothed me with skin and flesh,

and knit me together with bones and sinews.

You have granted me life and steadfast love,

and your care has preserved my spirit.

“Why did you bring me out from the womb?

Would that I had died before any eye had seen me

and were as though I had not been,

carried from the womb to the grave.

Job 10:8-12, 18-19 (ESV)

Wow.  What a passage on life.  Notice Job’s use of personal pronouns. The one’s he uses for life outside of the womb are intricately connected with the ones he uses for life inside the womb.  But the real money comes in verse 18, just three lines from the bottom of the quote above.  He states, “Would that I had died before any eye had seen me.” That “before” is a big before.  He’s saying that he was alive in the womb.  Alive before anyone had seen him. Death in the womb is death of life.

Thank you for writing those God-breathed words Job. And thank you, God, for creating and loving us the way You do.  May we fight with every breath to protect everyone You have created.

Brian

2 responses to “39 years too many

  • Dawm W

    Thank you SO much, Brian! You know that you have helped bring attention to something God has caused to be near & dear to my heart. Keep also in your prayers the emotionally & physically wounded mothers, along with those experiencing the grief of lost fatherhood & other family. Just last Saturday, ambulances had to come twice to a B’ham abortion clinic to get two ladies with life-threatening complications to the hospital. The EMT’s gurneys had to be wheeled down a debris-strewn alley to the back door where these two victims had to be hand-carried down a set narrow outside stairs to reach the gurneys. Women have died after abortions when there is this kind of inexcusable delay in getting to proper medical care. These are the conditions at so many abortion clinics where they claim that we “anti-choice” people are the ones who don’t care about women’s lives. Keep on praying, raising the awareness, & promoting ACTION of the body of Christ, my friend! Thanks!

    Love & miss y’all,
    Dawn

  • torrent 16 candles

    Samuels (Eminem) “Nothin’ On You” — Philip Lawrence, Ari Levine, Bruno Mars & Bobby Simmons Jr.

    They had arranged some signals between themselves.

    Juni, als Bombenanschläge in Kathmandu und anderen Städten
    Nepals acht Tote und 22 Verletzte forderten.

Leave a Reply

